fra9295 di fra9295
Eliminato 567 punti
Jane Austen

Jane Austen was born in 1775 in a small village of the south-west England where his father was rector of the church. She was educated by her father.
Her main works are:
- Sense and sensibility.
- Pride and prejudice.
- Northanger abbey.
- Mansfield park.
- Emma.
- Persuasion

Jane Austen owes much to the 18th century novelists, as Swift and Defoe, from whom she learned the insight into the psychology of the characters. Her style was characterized by irony and open interpretation. Her novels take place in England and they are about love and marriage. She remained fully committed to the common sense and moral principles of the previous generation but checked them through her own direct observation and feeling. She thought that love was a strong impulse that has to be controlled and brought to order by private reflection.

Pride and Prejudice is set in Longbourn where Mr. and Mrs. Bennet live with their five daughters: Jane, Elizabeth, Mary, Lydia and Kitty. One day a rich bachelor, Charles Bingley, rent a estate in the neighborhood. After a series of balls and parties Mr. Bingley falls in love with Jane and his friend Mr. Darcy with Elizabeth. The story is about their love and the difficulties that have to challenge with. The main characters are Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth who have great qualities but also great weakness (hero and heroine). During the novel she accuses him of pride and he accuses her of prejudice, but they also works in reverse. The novel involves both characters in a journey towards self-awareness and self–knowledge.

Jane Austen use in her style irony, third person narration (first person narration in many letters) and dialogues often quoted directly.

Hai bisogno di aiuto in 1800 e 1900?
Trova il tuo insegnante su | Ripetizioni
Registrati via email