The Government of the United States of America

The Government of the United States of America is based on the Constitution, which is the oldest written constitution in the world(1787). It divides the government into three branches: the legislative ,the executive and the judicial branch.
There are therefore the Congress (the American parliament), the President and the Supreme Court of the U.S.A.
The Congress consist of two houses: Senate, consisting of some hundred members (two for each state) and House of Representatives, with 400 members depending on the number of electors. Members from both Houses introduce and vote on new bills, that is they make the laws.
The President is the Head of the State and generally belongs to one of two main political parties, the Democrats or Republicans. The President is elected for four years and can be elected only twice. If he/she dies, he/she is replaced by the Vice-President.
The Supreme Court is made up of nine judges who explain and interpret the laws.
The White House is the official residence of the President in charge, since 1800.
It is a fine white building of classical style, surrounded by a wide green area.
It is situated in Washington City that is the capital of the U.S.A.
It was set on fire in the past and then rebuilt and painted in white, hence the name of the White House.
America is a democracy and everyone has the right to disagree with the government. Moreover, every citizen enjoys the freedom of speech, and of religion.

Hai bisogno di aiuto in Civiltà inglese?
Trova il tuo insegnante su | Ripetizioni
Registrati via email