cb.rr95 di cb.rr95
Ominide 834 punti

The civil war in Ireland

Northern Ireland is one of the four constituent nations of the United Kingdom. Corresponding to the northern island of Ireland, which covers an area of 14,160 km ², was formed in 1920 by the Government of Ireland Act, subsequently promulgated by the parliaments of Ireland and Great Britain in 1921.

The capital is Belfast.

Place in front of the divergent demands of Irish nationalists and unionists on the future of the island of Ireland (first wanted an Irish parliament that governs the island while the latter wanted that control remain under the British crown), the British government, led by David Lloyd George passed the Government of Ireland Act, dividing Ireland into two parts, each with its government: Northern Ireland and Southern Ireland.

This does never saw the light as it was replaced by the Irish Free State in 1922, the state now known as Republic of Ireland or Eire. Northern Ireland has a population of 1,685,267 inhabitants (April 2001). Historically, Ireland as part of the United Kingdom has the motto 'Quis separabit?' (Which in Latin means' Who can separate us? '), It is not clear yet whether it is valid for Northern Ireland.

Together with Great Britain Northern Ireland form the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland since 1922, following the independence proclaimed by the 26 counties that now form the Republic of Ireland.
Hai bisogno di aiuto in Inglese per la scuola media - appunti, grammatica, letteratura?
Trova il tuo insegnante su Skuola.net | Ripetizioni
Registrati via email