Ominide 9454 punti

"Honolulu and other stories" - William Somerset Maugham

"Honolulu and other stories," written by the British writer William Somerset Maugham, is a collection formed by nine stories that are characterized by the theme of the British Empire's decadence.
The book begins with the "Mackintosh" story and ends with the "Outpost", which are two similar stories: they tell the rising hatred of two men in forced labor, but have a completely different epilogue, depending on the different author's state of mind.
Maugham tells about the islands populated by decadent nobles, adventurers and sailors, describing places with fierce beauty, animated by the most extreme human passions. The style used is apparently light, halfway between reportage and gossip, recalling some of Maupassant's novels.
The nine stories are characterized by bizarre, pathetic characters, sometimes tragic, while an indomitable nature accompanies the narration.
Mostly hateful, in these pages that absorb the reader with magnetic force, seems to have more power than love, like a potion that delivers deliciously and that one can not help but grumble with pleasure.
But it is well known that the distinction between good and evil often shows very labile boundaries and lets everyone think that the unexpected is always around the corner, unknown and unfathomable at least as much as the human soul.
Hai bisogno di aiuto in 1800 e 1900?
Trova il tuo insegnante su | Ripetizioni
Registrati via email