Genius 7852 punti
He was born in Mackworth in 1689 and began to write a volume of model letters to be used by country readers: in this way wrote three epistolary novels (form of letters in which the narration is in the first person): Pamela, Clarissa and sir Charles Grandison. He died in London in 1761. All his novels are set in a realistic middle class environment and are the representation of the ethics of "the spectator": common sense, good manners and modesty.
The Richardson novels reflect the puritan middle-class scheme of reward for virtue and punishment for sins. In Richardson's works there are psychological analysis; the reader is taken inside the minds of the characters and is invited to share their thoughts, feelings and moods.


Is the first epistolary novel published as a series of thirty-two letters and tells the story of Pamela who accepts the proposal of marriage of a mistress'son; thus obtained the social position. She is confined to a house and goes outdoors only when her conflict with Mr B. comes to end. Pamela is a round character because she is practical, passionate and humble; Mr B. is a round character and reflects the male superiority: he tries to seduce Pamela, but her resistance changes his behaviour and became more mature and responsible.


Is the second epistolary novel in which there are four characters: Clarissa Harlowe, her friend Anna, Lovelace and his friend John. The novel begin with the notice of a duel between Lovelace and Clarissa's brother, then belong with the private things of Anna and it is concluded by a duel fatal to Lovelace.

Sir Charles Richardson

Third epistolary novel which tells the story of sir Charles who saves a woman by an attempted kidnapping and thus the lady saves him by a complicated live story with a catholic lady.
Hai bisogno di aiuto in Fino al 1700?
Trova il tuo insegnante su | Ripetizioni
Registrati via email